T20 World Cup 2024: US grab victory over Pakistan in Super Over challenge

The US successfully defended a 19-run target in the Super Over challenge against Pakistan as earlier they managed to tie the score in the nail-biting 20-over play. The match between Pakistan and the United States (US) was decided in the Super Over as the hosts managed to level the score on the last ball of the last over. Pakistan lost the match by 5 five runs in the one-over eliminator. Earlier, Babar Azam-led Pakistan posted a 160-run target in their first T20 World Cup 2024 encounter against the United States in the 11th match of the global event being played at Grand Prairie Stadium, Dallas on Thursday. The USA had a brilliant start with the ball as their bowlers sent the Pakistani top-order — Mohammad Rizwan, Usman Khan and Fakhar Zaman — back to the pavilion for just 26 runs. However, after losing three wickets, skipper Babar Azam and Shadab Khan played with caution and put the struggling Pakistani side back in the game. A 72-run partnership between Babar and Shadab helped Pakistan go on top once again but Shadab walked back to the pavilion after scoring 40 runs on 25 balls. Right after Shadab’s dismissal, wicketkeeper batter Azam Khan got out on a golden duck and the wickets continued to fall. Babar Azam scored 44 off 43. Iftikhar Ahmed departed after scoring 18 runs. Shaheen Afridi (23 off 16 balls) provided crucial runs to Pakistan down the order and helped them conclude their innings at 159-7 in the allocated overs. Earlier at the toss, USA skipper Monak Patel defended his decision of bowling first saying that chasing is easier and they did the same in their previous match against Canada. “Chasing here is easier,” said USA captain Monak Patel at the toss as quoted by ESPN Cricinfo. “The way we chased down total was entertaining. Have momentum, want to continue that. Excited for this challenge.” Playing XIs USA: Steven Taylor, Monank Patel (capt, wk), Andries Gous, Aaron Jones, Nitish Kumar, Corey Anderson, Harmeet Singh, Jasdeep Singh, Nosthush Kenjige, Saurabh Netravalkar, Ali Khan Pakistan: Babar Azam (capt), Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Usman Khan, Fakhar Zaman, Azam Khan, Iftikhar Ahmed, Shadab Khan, Shaheen Afridi, Naseem Shah, Mohammad Amir, Haris Rauf