Pakistan squad for Australia: Rizwan replaces Sarfaraz as keeper

Pakistan on Monday named Test and T20 squads for the upcoming tour to Australia, bringing back uncapped opener Abid Ali and experienced left-arm spinner Kashif Bhatti in the Test team.
Middle-order batsman Iftikhar Ahmed and fast-bowler Imran Khan Senior were also recalled for World Test Championship matches. Wicket-keeper Muhammad Rizwan replaced former skipper Sarfaraz Ahmed in the team.
Musa Khan was included in the T20I side along with uncapped middle-order batsman Khushdil Shah and wrist spinner Usman Qadir, and lanky fast bowler Mohammad Irfan made a comeback as well.
Misbah-ul-Haq, Chief Selector and Head Coach of Pakistan cricket team, announced the squad at a press conference in Lahore.
Hasan Ali was ruled out of the tour due to back injury while Shaheen Shah Afridi named only for Tests after injury comeback.
“Our aim is to move up the Test rankings and begin the Test Championship strong. There is a need to play a different brand of cricket, the balance of the squads is reflective of us having options to play aggressive, attacking cricket” said Misbah while announcing the squad.
T20 squad: Babar Azam (captain), Asif Ali, Fakhar Zaman, Haris Sohail, Iftikhar Ahmed, Imad Wasim, Imam-ul-Haq, Khushdil Shah, Muhammad Amir, Muhammad Hasnain, Muhammad Irfan, Muhammad Rizwan, Musa Khan, Shadab Khan, Usman Qadir, and Wahab Riaz.
Test squad: Azhar Ali (captain), Abid Ali, Asad Shafiq, Babar Azam, Haris Sohail, Imam-ul-Haq, Imran Khan Sr, Iftikhar Ahmed, Kashif Bhatti, Muhammad Abbas, Muhammad Rizwan, Musa Khan, Naseem Shah, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Shan Masood, and Yasir Shah.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.