Babar Azam named captain of ICC’s ‘Most Valuable Team of the Tournament’

The International Cricket Council (ICC) has released the official Men’s T20 World Cup Upstox Most Valuable Team of the Tournament and to the delight of many Pakistanis around the globe, Babar Azam has been selected as its skipper.
Cricketers from six different teams were named in the Most Valuable Team of the Tournament. Cricketers from the World Cup-winning Australia, runners-up New Zealand, semi-finalists England and Pakistan as well as Sri Lanka and South Africa have been featured in the line-up.
From Australia, Player of the Tournament David Warner, leg-spinner Adam Zampa and seamer Josh Hazlewood all make the cut.
Jos Buttler has been selected as the team’s wicketkeeper, Pakistan’s Babar Azam has been selected as the captain, New Zealand left-armer Trent Boult and Sri Lanka star Wanindu Hasaranga – the tournament’s leading wicket-taker – are also in the line-up.
The line-up, featuring the stars from all cricket teams, has been selected by commentators, former international players and journalists Ian Bishop (Convenor), Natalie Germanos, Shane Watson, Lawrence Booth – of Wisden, the Daily Mail and Mail on Sunday – and Shahid Hashmi of Agence France Presse.
Notably, the team of the tournament does not mention any Indian cricketer at all.
Pakistan’s left-handed destructive fast bowler Shaheen Shah Afridi has been selected as the 12th man of the squad.
“As with any team selection, there will be varying opinions and robust discussion on the final composition of the squad. The panel respects that, and we encourage the strong debate that will ensue. This team was incredibly difficult to select over such a highly competitive tournament. Selections were based predominantly on the Super 12 onward to the final,” said Ian Bishop.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.