U.S consulate fetes worldwide writing program

diplomatic news

Karachi – U.S. Consul Normal Brian Heath hosted College of Iowa’s Worldwide Writing Program (IWP) Director Christopher Merrill at his Residence. Mr. Merrill is in Karachi to take part within the 6th Karachi Literature Competition (KLF) February 6-8. As well as, KLF founders Ameena Saiyid and Asif Farrukhi and colleagues from the Oxford College Press attended as did IWP alumni H.M. Naqvi and Shandana (Pakistan) and Sridala Swami and Kavery Nambisan (India).

U.S. Embassy Islamabad’s Nation Cultural Affairs Officer Judith Ravin learn “Total Ocean in a Drop,” a brief essay about experiencing Sufi music that was within the Embassy’s January 2015 situation of Khabr o Nazar.  Mr. Merrill additionally learn excerpts from his revealed works as did the 2 Pakistani and two Indian IWP alumni.

karachi literature festival

“I’m delighted to have a good time the facility of the written and spoken phrase tonight,” mentioned Mr. Heath. “I’d additionally wish to take this chance to acknowledge the Karachi Literature Competition, which has grown quickly since its institution in March 2010 from 5,000 attendees in 2010 to greater than 70,000 in 2014.  The U.S. Consulate Normal in Karachi is proud to — as soon as once more — be a sponsor of this landmark cultural occasion.”

The U.S. Division of State is a serious sponsor of the Worldwide Writing Program on the College of Iowa. The Worldwide Writing Program is a famend author’s residency program. It seeks to attach established and rising writers from across the globe, convey worldwide literature into school rooms, take writers on studying excursions, interact these writers with new audiences, and function a clearinghouse for literary information and different supplies.

Since 1967, greater than 1,400 writers from greater than 140 international locations have been in residence on the College of Iowa. A number of notable writers from Pakistan have additionally participated within the IWP program, together with H. M. Naqvi, Bina Shah, Bilal Tanweer, and Shandana Minhas.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.