Polling for Peshawar's PK-Eight by-election underway

Polling for Peshawar's PK-8 by-election underway
Polling for PK-Eight seat is underway Thursday after it was vacated following Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz’s (PML-N) Arbab Akbar Hayat’s demise.

Polling for the by-election started at Eight am and can conclude at 5pm. Greater than police and armed forces personnel are guarding complete 98 polling stations fashioned within the constituency.

Safety issues loom over the by-election as 40 polling centres have been declared extraordinarily delicate, 47, delicate and 11 have been declared regular. Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf’s (PTI) Shehzad Khan, Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam’s (JUI) Asif Iqbal, Pakistan Folks’s Celebration’s (PPP) Malik Tehmash and Awami Nationwide Celebration’s (ANP) Ejaz Samyab amongst 15 contestants.

PTI, JUI and PPP are prone to line by each other within the outcomes with shut margins.

Variety of registered voters in PK-Eight is over 1.36 lac nonetheless, turnout is dismal within the early hours. Media are permitted restricted protection of the by-election.

It ought to be famous right here that Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf will handle a ‘clear sweep’ in Peshawar if Shehzad Khan wins the seat. Jamaat-e-Islami (JI), Qaumi Watan Celebration (QWP) and Pakistan Muslim League Quaid-e-Azam (PML-Q) had withdrawn in favour of PTI earlier.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.